keyperson.quest logokeyperson.questCompare providers
  1. Home
  2. Business protection
  3. Key person income protection

Key person income protection, while they cannot work

Key person income protection (also called key man income protection) pays your business a monthly benefit if someone it relies on cannot work through illness or injury (Legal & General ↗).

This guide covers how it works, how it differs from life cover, the limits insurers publish and how HMRC treats it.

Every claim here is our summary of a named external source, linked beside it. Sources change: check the wording at the link before you rely on it.

Size the benefit ↓Compare with life cover →
Legal & General's monthly ceiling, level cover£20,833Increasing cover has a lower cap of £14,583 a month. Published maximums, subject to underwriting; not a quote.

Sources: Legal & General (Legal & General ↗) · increasing cover (Legal & General policy summary ↗)

01 · Key person protection

Key person protection, three kinds of cover

Key person protection, also called key person cover or key man cover, is insurance a business takes out on someone it relies on.

HMRC describes it as a policy an employer takes out in its own favour against loss of profits from the death, critical illness, sickness, accident or injury of an employee, director or other key person (HMRC ↗).

Legal & General says key man insurance means the same thing (Legal & General ↗).

It comes in three forms.

Legal & General's adviser range lists key person life insurance, life insurance with critical illness cover, and Key Person Income Protection (Legal & General ↗).

The first two pay a lump sum; income protection pays a monthly benefit while the person cannot work (Legal & General ↗).

This page is about the third.

Key person life insurance →Key person critical illness →What is key person insurance? →

Life cover

With critical illness

This page

Income protection

Pays when
If the key person passes away (Legal & General ↗)
As life cover, or on a covered critical illness (Legal & General ↗)
They cannot work through illness or injury (Legal & General ↗)
How it pays
A lump sum to the employer (Legal & General ↗)
A lump sum to the employer (Legal & General ↗)
A monthly benefit to the business (Legal & General ↗)
Largest cover, L&G
£10,000,000, subject to underwriting (Legal & General ↗)
£3,000,000 (Specific Work Task) (Legal & General ↗)
£20,833 a month, level cover (Legal & General ↗)
Oldest entry, L&G
Up to the 60th birthday (Legal & General ↗)
Swipe to compare

Legal & General's published limits, for one insurer's range; other insurers differ. Check each at its link.

02 · How it works

What is key person income protection?

Legal & General says that if the employee covered becomes incapacitated through illness or injury and cannot work, it pays the business a regular monthly benefit.

The business can use it to fund a temporary replacement, protect profits or help with loan repayments (Legal & General ↗).

The test is the person's own job: its policy summary says it pays if they are unable to carry out the material and substantial duties of their own current occupation (Legal & General policy summary ↗).

HMRC's manual also counts sickness, accident and injury in the key person cover an employer takes out against loss of profits (HMRC ↗).

UK insurers paid a record £8 billion of group and individual protection claims in 2024, according to the ABI and GRiD (ABI ↗).

01

Set up

The business insures the key person

Someone whose absence would cost it profit.

02

Claim

They cannot do their own job

Through illness or injury, on the policy’s definition.

03

Wait

The deferred period runs

Four, eight, 13, 26 or 52 weeks at Legal & General.

04

Benefit

The business is paid monthly

For up to 12 or 24 months per claim at Legal & General.

Steps summarised from Legal & General (Legal & General ↗) and its policy summary (Legal & General policy summary ↗). Other insurers' terms differ.

03 · Compare

Key person income protection vs life insurance

Both pay the business.

Key person income protection pays while the person cannot work (Legal & General ↗).

Key person life cover pays if they pass away, with critical illness cover if it was chosen (Legal & General ↗).

Legal & General sells both, alongside a critical illness option (Legal & General ↗).

They cover different events.

Whether a business needs one, the other or both is a question for an FCA-authorised adviser.

Key person life insurance →Key person critical illness →Key man insurance vs life insurance →Shareholder protection insurance →

This page

Key person income protection

Key person life cover

Pays when
They cannot work through illness or injury (Legal & General ↗)
As life cover, or on critical illness if chosen (Legal & General ↗)
Paid to
How
A monthly benefit, up to 12 or 24 months a claim (L&G ↗)
A payout to the employer (Legal & General ↗)
Largest cover
£20,833 a month, level cover (Legal & General ↗)
£10,000,000, subject to underwriting (Legal & General ↗)
Entry ages
18th to 60th birthday (Legal & General ↗)
Up to 77 for life cover (Legal & General ↗)
Term
5 to 20 years, ending before 70 (Legal & General ↗)
Must end by the 90th birthday (Legal & General ↗)
Swipe to compare

Figures are Legal & General's, for one insurer's products; check each at its link. Other insurers publish different limits.

04 · How much

How much cover insurers will consider

Legal & General allows up to 2.5 times the employee's earnings to meet the cost of a temporary replacement, or up to 75% of the gross profit attributable to them, each capped at £20,833 a month for level cover (Legal & General ↗).

Increasing cover has a lower cap of £14,583 a month (Legal & General policy summary ↗).

Royal London's maximum is 75% of the company's average gross profits attributable to the key person over the last three years, up to £250,000 a year (Royal London ↗).

Type your own figures to see each rule side by side.

Nothing you type is stored or sent.

Key person insurance for business calculator →
Their earnings, a month£7,500
Legal & General logoLegal & General replacement basis: 2.5× earnings£18,750
Legal & General logoLegal & General profit basis: 75% of gross profit£18,750
Royal London logoRoyal London profit basis: 75% of gross profit£18,750
The largest monthly benefit each published rule would consider for the figures above. We apply each rule to yearly figures and divide by 12. Legal & General caps level cover at £20,833 a month and increasing cover at £14,583; the switch changes only its cap, as it is the only insurer in our sources that publishes a separate one. Royal London averages the profit over three years and caps it at £250,000 a year. These are ceilings, not quotes: underwriting sets the real limit. Check each rule at its source: Legal & General ↗ · Royal London ↗.
05 · One insurer in full

Legal & General key person income protection, from its policy summary

Legal & General publishes the terms of its Key Person Income Protection in a policy summary, so it can be read end to end.

We set it beside Royal London, the other insurer in our sources that publishes a key person income protection limit.

This is not a recommendation of either.

Two terms are worth knowing before any quote.

The test is the person's own job: Legal & General pays if they cannot carry out the material and substantial duties of their own current occupation.

And if they come back in a reduced role, it pays a proportion of the monthly benefit that takes account of the market salary for that role (Legal & General policy summary ↗).

Legal & General key person insurance →Royal London key person insurance →Key person insurance comparison →

Key Person Income Protection

Legal & General

Key Person Income Protection

Royal London

Sized on
Up to 2.5× earnings, or 75% of attributable gross profit (Legal & General ↗)
75% of average attributable gross profit over three years (Royal London ↗)
Most benefit
£20,833 a month level, £14,583 increasing (L&G ↗)
£250,000 a year (Royal London ↗)
Entry ages
18th to 60th birthday (Legal & General ↗)
Not stated in the documents we checked
Policy term
5 to 20 years, ending before age 70 (Legal & General ↗)
Not stated in the documents we checked
Deferred period
4, 8, 13, 26 or 52 weeks (L&G ↗)
Not stated in the documents we checked
Paid for
Up to 12 or 24 months a claim (L&G ↗)
Not stated in the documents we checked
Swipe to compare

Published terms, not an offer; underwriting decides. Check each at its link before you rely on it.

06 · Cost

Key person income protection cost, and what drives it

We do not show prices, because we have no published source for them: a price comes from an insurer after underwriting the person and the business.

MoneyHelper's list of what affects the cost of personal income protection is shown here, with the deferred periods Legal & General offers on its key person policy.

Key person insurance cost →
What affects the cost of income protection
  • The person's age
  • Their occupation
  • Whether they smoke or have smoked
  • How much income is covered
  • The deferred period before it pays: the longer it is, the lower the monthly premiums
  • The range of illnesses and injuries covered
  • Their health, weight and family medical history

MoneyHelper's list, for personal income protection (MoneyHelper ↗)

Legal & General's deferred periods, key person cover
  • Four, eight, 13, 26 or 52 weeks

Check it in the policy summary: (Legal & General policy summary ↗)

07 · Who it is for

Who needs key person income protection?

A business whose profits would fall while one person is off sick.

To insure someone as a key person, Legal & General says the business must be able to show it would lose profits in their absence (Legal & General ↗), and needs the person's agreement and a financial relationship with them (Legal & General ↗).

If you are a sole trader or partner, HMRC says premiums for sickness cover on yourself are not allowable deductions and the benefits are not trading income (HMRC ↗).

Spot your key person risk →Sole traders →
  • Owner-operators

    A director whose absence would stop the work coming in.

  • Service businesses

    Consultancies, agencies and firms where one person brings in the fees.

  • Technical experts

    A business that relies on one person's specialist skill or knowledge.

  • Client-facing roles

    Someone who holds the key client relationships.

Examples, not a test. The insurer decides whether a person counts as a key person.

08 · Tax

Is key person income protection tax deductible?

HMRC allows a deduction for key person premiums only if the sole purpose is meeting a loss of trading income (HMRC ↗).

Whether that is met is a question of fact about what the directors were trying to achieve (HMRC ↗).

Where the premiums were deductible, what the policy pays is income of the trade (HMRC ↗).

Tax treatment depends on your facts.

Check it with your accountant before you rely on it.

Key person insurance tax guide →
01

Condition

The sole purpose is trade

Meeting a loss of trading income from the key person’s absence, not a capital loss.

02

Evidence

A question of fact

Decided on what the directors were seeking to achieve.

03

Result

Premiums deducted, benefit taxed

If the premiums were deductible, the benefit is trading income.

Summarised from HMRC's Business Income Manual, BIM45525 (HMRC ↗) and BIM45530 (HMRC ↗)

09 · Related cover

Other ways to cover time off work

Key person income protection protects the business.

Executive income protection also pays the business, but so it can keep paying the employee's sick pay (Legal & General ↗).

10 · Sources

Check it for yourself

Every claim on this page is our summary of one of the documents listed here.

We last checked them against the live sources on 28 September 2026.

The documents are the authority, not this page.

Insurers and HMRC update them, so validate any figure or condition at its link before you rely on it.

Questions

Key person income protection, answered

Key person protection, or key person cover, is insurance a business takes out on someone it relies on.

HMRC describes key person cover as a policy an employer takes out in its own favour against loss of profits from the death, critical illness, sickness, accident or injury of an employee, director or other key person.

Legal & General sells it as life cover, life cover with critical illness, and Key Person Income Protection. HMRC BIM45525 ↗

Yes. Legal & General says key man insurance means the same thing as key person insurance.

Keyman income protection is the income protection form of it: a monthly benefit paid to the business while the key person cannot work through illness or injury. Legal & General ↗

Yes. Legal & General’s adviser range includes Key Person Income Protection.

Its policy summary allows up to 2.5 times the employee’s earnings or 75% of the gross profit attributable to them, up to £20,833 a month for level cover, from the 18th to the 60th birthday, for 5 to 20 years ending before age 70.

We do not recommend any insurer: compare what each publishes. Legal & General policy summary ↗

Key person income protection is cover a business takes out on someone it relies on.

Legal & General says that if the employee covered cannot work through illness or injury, it pays the business a regular monthly benefit, which can fund a temporary replacement, protect profits or help with loan repayments. Legal & General ↗

Key person life cover pays the business if the key person passes away, and on a critical illness if that cover was chosen.

Key person income protection pays the business a monthly benefit while the key person cannot work through illness or injury. Legal & General ↗

We do not show prices, because we have no published source for them: a price comes from an insurer after underwriting.

For personal income protection, MoneyHelper lists what affects the cost: age, occupation, smoking, how much income is covered, the deferred period, the illnesses and injuries covered, and health. MoneyHelper ↗

It is the wait between the person stopping work and the monthly benefit starting.

Legal & General offers deferred periods of four, eight, 13, 26 or 52 weeks on its Key Person Income Protection.

For personal income protection, MoneyHelper says the longer you wait, the lower the monthly premiums. Legal & General policy summary ↗

Legal & General says its policy can be arranged to pay a monthly benefit for up to 12 or 24 months on an individual claim. Legal & General policy summary ↗

Legal & General allows up to 2.5 times the employee’s earnings, or up to 75% of the gross profit attributable to them, capped at £20,833 a month for level cover and £14,583 a month for increasing cover.

Royal London’s maximum is 75% of attributable average gross profit over three years, up to £250,000 a year. Legal & General policy summary ↗

It can be.

HMRC’s manual includes sickness in the key person cover an employer takes out against loss of profits, and allows a deduction only where the sole purpose is meeting a loss of trading income.

Whether that is met is a question of fact.

Where the premiums were deductible, what the policy pays is trading income.

Check your case with an accountant. HMRC BIM45525 ↗

Beta · information only

Protect against long-term illness, with a number first.

The key person insurance calculator works through the earnings, profit and loan methods UK insurers publish.

01Earnings, profit and loan methods

02Insurers’ published multiples, with sources

03No email, no quote, no sales call

Information, not advice

We are not an insurer, broker or regulated adviser, and we do not give quotes or recommend a policy. For regulated advice, use an adviser authorised by the FCA.

Open the calculator →

Takes you to the key person insurance calculator.

Not financial advice. This page is general information. Before buying insurance, the FCA tells consumers to check the firm on its Firm Checker (FCA ↗). For free guidance, see MoneyHelper.