keyperson.quest logokeyperson.questCompare providers
  1. Home
  2. Business protection
  3. Key person life insurance

Key person life insurance UK, protecting your business

Key person life insurance, also called key man life insurance, gives a business a lump sum to stay steady without someone it depends on: a director, founder or key employee.

The business owns the policy and receives the payout if the person insured passes away (Legal & General ↗).

This guide covers who owns it, how much insurers will consider, the tax and the claims record.

Every claim here is our summary of a named external source, linked beside it. Sources change: check the wording at the link before you rely on it.

Size the cover ↓Key person insurance calculator →
Legal & General: life cover can often be up to this multiple of the key person’s earnings10×A published rule of thumb, not a quote. Underwriting decides; check it at the source.

Source: Legal & General (Legal & General ↗)

01 · What it is

What is key person life insurance? Cover the business owns

HMRC describes key person cover as a policy an employer takes out in its own favour against loss of profits from the death, critical illness, sickness, accident or injury of an employee, director or other key person (HMRC ↗).

Key person life insurance is the life-cover part.

Because a company has its own legal identity, it is both the applicant and the plan owner (Royal London ↗).

It pays the premiums and receives the proceeds, so no trust is needed (Royal London ↗).

The business needs the key person's agreement and a financial relationship with them (Legal & General ↗), and must be able to show it would lose profits in their absence (Legal & General ↗).

What is key person insurance? →
01

Owner

The company takes out the policy

It is the applicant, the plan owner and the one paying the premiums.

02

Life insured

The key person is the life covered

With their agreement. They do not own the policy and are not paid by it.

03

Claim

The business makes a claim

If the key person passes away or is diagnosed as terminally ill, on the policy’s terms.

04

Payout

The money goes to the business

A lump sum the company can use to steady itself.

02 · What the money is for

What the payout can pay for

The payout belongs to the business, which decides how to use it.

Legal & General lists the situations a payout could help with (Legal & General ↗).

It replaces money, not the person.

Knowledge, relationships and authority still need a plan: see key person risk.

Legal & General's list, in its words

  • Loss of profits
  • Having to recruit or train a replacement
  • The loss of important personal or business contacts
  • Loss of goodwill, which could affect raising capital or attracting new investors
  • Customers and suppliers losing confidence in the business
  • Outstanding loans

Summarised from Legal & General; check the list at the link: (Legal & General ↗)

03 · The policy

Key person life insurance policy, what it looks like

A key person life insurance policy has the company on one side and the key person on the other: the company is the applicant and plan owner, and the key person is the life covered (Royal London ↗).

The rest is a set of choices, each one published by the insurers and listed here.

The type matters for tax: HMRC wants a term policy with no other benefits for the premiums to be deductible (HMRC ↗), as the tax section below explains.

Key man life insurance vs personal life insurance →Key person critical illness →

The parts of the policy, from the insurers' documents

  • Owner: the company, which pays the premiums and receives the proceeds, so no trust is needed (Royal London ↗)
  • Life insured: the key person, with their agreement (Legal & General ↗)
  • Term: one to 50 years at Aviva (Aviva ↗); Legal & General's must end by the 90th birthday (Legal & General ↗)
  • Level or increasing: Royal London gives unlimited life cover up to and including age 79, or up to £5 million when increasing cover is chosen (Royal London ↗)
  • Oldest entry: 77 for life cover and 67 with critical illness at Legal & General (Legal & General ↗); 77 and 64 at Aviva (Aviva ↗) (Aviva ↗)
  • Pays out: if the person insured passes away or is diagnosed with a terminal illness where life expectancy is less than 12 months, plus critical illness if chosen at the outset for an extra cost (Legal & General ↗)

Each line summarises the linked document. Insurers change their terms; check at the link.

04 · How much cover

How much key person life insurance do you need?

Insurers size key person life insurance from what the person is worth to the business.

Legal & General says a simple formula is a multiple of earnings, often up to 10 times for life cover (Legal & General ↗).

Royal London gives up to 10 times gross salary including benefits in kind (Royal London ↗), Scottish Widows up to 10 times earnings (Scottish Widows ↗), and Zurich's 2021 guide perhaps up to 7 times the total remuneration package (Zurich ↗).

Type your own figures into the calculator: it applies each insurer's published rule and shows the ceiling, not a quote or a premium.

Nothing you type is stored or sent.

Profit is the other route.

Legal & General lists up to 5 times the net profit attributable to the key person (Legal & General ↗) or up to 2 times the attributable gross profit (Legal & General ↗), and a payroll formula with a recovery period of at most 5 years (Legal & General ↗).

It routinely averages the last 2 years' profit (Legal & General ↗).

Royal London's normal multiple is 5 times net profit (Royal London ↗), and it says total life cover should not exceed the greater of the salary and profit limits (Royal London ↗).

Zurich's guide says an underwriter might consider up to 5 times profit for life cover (Zurich ↗).

Cover can also match a loan to be repaid if the key person passes away (Legal & General ↗).

Scottish Widows counts dividends and regular bonuses in remuneration (Scottish Widows ↗).

Key person insurance for business calculator, method by method →
Your figures (examples; change them)

Salary, regular bonuses and dividends; insurers word it differently

Their share of the business's net profit, averaged over recent years

Their share of gross profit

Business borrowing that would need repaying

Life cover: what the published rules would consider

£420,000 to £600,000

Across 4 published rules that apply to the figures you gave. Each is a ceiling, not a recommendation: the insurer's underwriter sets the real limit.

Earnings method
Their pay£60,000
Legal & General logoLegal & General up to 10× earnings£600,000
Royal London logoRoyal London up to 10× gross salary£600,000
Scottish Widows logoScottish Widows up to 10× earnings£600,000
Zurich logoZurich up to 7× total remuneration£420,000
Summarised from each insurer's guide; check the current rule at its link: Legal & General ↗ · Royal London ↗ · Scottish Widows ↗ · Zurich ↗.
Profit method

Add a net or gross profit figure above to see this method.

Loan method

Add a loan figure above to see this method.

Royal London: overall cap on life cover
Royal London logoRoyal London the greater of 10× salary package or 5× average net profit£600,000
Profits averaged over three years and attributed to the key person. Check it at the link: Royal London ↗

No premium is shown: the price depends on the person and needs an insurer's underwriting. Nothing you type is stored or sent.

05 · Limits

The most insurers say they will cover

Separate from the multiples, insurers publish an overall ceiling.

Legal & General gives £10 million for life cover only, subject to underwriting (Legal & General ↗).

Royal London gives unlimited life cover for customers up to and including age 79, with lower limits for increasing cover and older lives (Royal London ↗).

Larger amounts bring more questions.

Aviva asks for a full financial questionnaire above £2.5 million of life cover (Aviva ↗), and gives up to £1 million of free life cover while it looks into a case it cannot decide straight away (Aviva ↗).

Legal & General

Royal London

Aviva

Most life cover
£10 million, subject to underwriting (Legal & General ↗)
Unlimited, up to and including age 79 (Royal London ↗)
Not stated in the documents we checked
Oldest entry age
77, ending by the 90th birthday (Legal & General ↗)
Not stated in the documents we checked
Financial evidence
Not stated in the documents we checked
Not stated in the documents we checked
Full questionnaire above £2,500,000 (Aviva ↗)
Swipe to compare

Published limits, not what any business will be offered. Insurers revise them; check each at its link.

06 · Quotes

Key person life insurance quotes, what the insurer will ask

This site does not quote or arrange cover.

A quote comes from an insurer or an FCA-authorised adviser, after the insurer has underwritten the key person and the business, in the steps shown here.

Larger sums need more evidence: Zurich's guide mentions audited accounts and a letter from the company accountant (Zurich ↗).

Legal & General says its own advisers can advise on its Key Person Protection (Legal & General ↗), and the FCA tells consumers to check any firm on its Firm Checker (FCA ↗).

Key person insurance comparison →Key person insurance claims →
1

Size it

Work out the amount

From salary, profit or a loan, using the rules insurers publish.

2

Evidence

Gather the numbers

Accounts and the key person’s pay, and why the business would lose profit in their absence. More evidence for larger sums.

3

Apply

Through an adviser or the insurer

With the key person’s agreement, and full health and occupation answers.

4

Quote

The insurer underwrites

The price and the final amount come only after underwriting.

07 · Cost

How much does key person life insurance cost?

No insurer publishes a price list for key person cover.

A price comes from underwriting the person and the cover asked for.

The steps show what goes into it.

The only key person premium table we could verify is a broker's.

Drewberry publishes £7.26 a month at 35, £12.66 at 45 and £26.78 at 55 for £150,000 of level life cover over 10 years, for a healthy non-smoking company director with office-based duties, accurate as of August 2025 (Drewberry (broker) ↗).

It is an example for one set of assumptions, not a quote.

Adding critical illness cover costs more: Legal & General describes it as chosen at the outset for an extra cost (Legal & General ↗).

For a premium to be deductible, HMRC says the term should not extend beyond the employee's usefulness to the company (HMRC ↗).

Key person insurance cost →Compare insurers →
01

The person

Who is being insured

The insurer underwrites the key person from the application, including their health.

02

The amount

How much cover

Sized from salary, profit or a loan. Larger amounts can mean more financial evidence.

03

The term

How long it runs

For a deductible premium, HMRC says it should not outlast the person’s usefulness to the company.

04

The events

Life only, or with critical illness

Critical illness cover is an extra, chosen at the start.

08 · Tax

Is key person life insurance tax deductible?

It can be.

HMRC's manual sets two conditions, compared here: the sole purpose must be meeting a loss of trading income (HMRC ↗), and life cover must be term insurance with no other benefits (HMRC ↗).

Tax depends on your facts, so check it with your accountant.

Key person insurance tax guide →

Meets both conditions

Does not

Purpose
Solely a loss of trading income (HMRC ↗)
Another purpose, such as a capital loss
Policy
Term cover, no other benefits (HMRC ↗)
Whole life or endowment: capital (HMRC ↗)
Premiums
Deductible (HMRC ↗)
Not deductible
Payout
Trading income (HMRC ↗)
Generally not, with no assurance (HMRC ↗)
Decided on
A question of fact: what the directors were seeking to achieve (HMRC ↗)
–
Swipe to compare
09 · Claims

Do claims get paid?

Across the UK market, the great majority of protection claims are paid: the ABI's 2024 figures are shown here (ABI ↗).

They cover all policies, not key person cover alone.

Where a claim is declined, the ABI names two common reasons: existing medical conditions not disclosed, and not meeting the policy definitions (ABI ↗).

So answer the application fully.

Key person insurance claims →
New individual protection claims paid, 202497.9%

ABI; check at the link: (ABI ↗)

Paid on individual life, income protection and critical illness policies, 2024£5.32bn

ABI; check at the link: (ABI ↗)

Group and individual protection claims paid, 2024£8bn

ABI and GRiD figures; check at the link: (ABI ↗)

10 · Next

Compare key person life insurance options

Life cover is one of several ways to protect a business.

Each guide below says who the policy pays and what it is for.

Who each pays, from the insurers' own descriptions: key person cover (Legal & General ↗), critical illness if chosen (Legal & General ↗), relevant life (Royal London ↗), executive income protection (Legal & General ↗).

11 · Sources

Check it for yourself

Every claim on this page is our summary of one of the documents listed here.

We last checked them against the live sources on 28 September 2026.

The documents are the authority, not this page.

Insurers and HMRC update them, so validate any figure or condition at its link before you rely on it.

Questions

Key person life insurance, answered

Key person life insurance is a policy a business takes out on the life of someone it depends on, such as a director, owner or key employee.

Legal & General says the policy is owned and paid for by the employer, so any payout is payable to the employer.

Legal & General lists lost profits, recruiting or training a replacement and outstanding loans among the situations a payout could help with. Legal & General ↗

Insurers publish rules of thumb rather than a set amount.

Legal & General says cover can often be up to 10 times the key person’s earnings for life cover, or up to 5 times the net profit attributable to them.

Royal London gives up to 10 times gross salary, and Scottish Widows up to 10 times earnings.

Cover can also be the amount of a loan to be repaid if they pass away.

Underwriting sets the real limit. Legal & General adviser guide ↗

It can be.

HMRC’s manual says premiums are deductible only if the sole purpose is meeting a loss of trading income, not a capital loss, and, for life cover, the policy is term insurance with no other benefits.

Whether the sole-purpose condition is met is a question of fact.

Where premiums were deductible, the payout is income of the trade.

Check your own case with your accountant. HMRC BIM45525 ↗

Yes, where the business owns the policy and is paid.

HMRC describes key person cover as a policy an employer takes out in its own favour against loss of profits from the death, critical illness, sickness, accident or injury of an employee, director or other key person.

Life cover an employer buys to pay an employee’s family, such as a relevant life plan, is a different product. HMRC BIM45525 ↗

It pays out if the key person passes away during the term.

Legal & General’s key person policy also pays on terminal illness, where life expectancy is less than 12 months, and critical illness cover can be added at the outset for an extra cost.

The company owns the policy and receives the payout. Legal & General ↗

From an insurer or an FCA-authorised adviser; this site does not quote.

Expect to show the business would lose profits without the person, and to get their agreement.

For larger amounts, insurers ask for financial evidence: Aviva asks for a full financial questionnaire above £2.5 million of life cover, and Zurich’s guide mentions audited accounts and a letter from the company accountant.

The FCA tells consumers to check a firm on its Firm Checker first. Aviva business protection ↗

No insurer we checked publishes a key person price.

One broker, Drewberry, publishes £7.26 a month at 35, £12.66 at 45 and £26.78 at 55 for £150,000 of level life cover over 10 years, for a healthy non-smoking company director with office-based duties, accurate as of August 2025.

Your price comes only from a quote. Drewberry (broker) ↗

A business whose profits rest on one person: a founder who wins the work, a director a lender relies on, or an employee with skills nobody else has.

Legal & General says the business must be able to show it would lose profits in the key person’s absence to insure them, and needs a financial relationship with that person.

Whether to buy cover is a decision for the business, ideally with an FCA-authorised adviser. Legal & General ↗

Beta · information only

Put a number on it, before you speak to anyone.

The key person insurance calculator works through the earnings, profit and loan methods, with the multiples UK insurers publish.

01Earnings, profit and loan methods

02Insurers’ published multiples, with sources

03No email, no quote, no sales call

Information, not advice

We are not an insurer, broker or regulated adviser, and we do not give quotes or recommend a policy. For regulated advice, use an adviser authorised by the FCA.

Open the calculator →

Takes you to the key person insurance calculator.

Not financial advice. This page is general information. Before buying insurance, the FCA tells consumers to check the firm on its Firm Checker (FCA ↗). For free guidance, see MoneyHelper.