keyperson.questCompare providers
  1. Home
  2. Guides
  3. What is key person insurance?

What is key person insurance? Keyman cover, explained

Key person insurance, also called keyman or key man insurance, gives a business the money to stay steady without someone it depends on: to cover lost profit, recruit a replacement or repay a loan (Legal & General ↗).

The business owns and pays for the policy, and receives the payout if the person insured passes away, or is diagnosed with a covered critical illness where that cover was chosen (Legal & General ↗).

This guide covers who needs it, how much cover, cost, tax, buying and claims.

Every claim here is our summary of a named external source, linked beside it. Sources change: check the wording at the link before you rely on it.

Start with the definition ↓Size the cover on this page ↓
of businesses believe they would stop trading within a year without a key individual59%Legal & General's own research. It is a belief survey, not a measured failure rate.

Source, to check at the link: (Legal & General ↗)

01 · Key facts

Key facts: key person insurance

Eight lines that answer most first questions.

Each one links to the document it comes from, and the sections below go into the detail.

Business protection insurance →
  • What it is: cover an employer takes out in its own favour, to protect its profits if a key person passes away or becomes ill (HMRC ↗)
  • Who pays: the business owns and pays for the policy (Legal & General ↗)
  • Who is paid: the business, with no trust needed (Royal London ↗)
  • When it pays: if the person insured passes away or is diagnosed with a terminal illness, or a specified critical illness if chosen (Legal & General ↗)
  • Cover types: life cover, with critical illness if chosen (Legal & General ↗), or a monthly income protection benefit (Legal & General ↗)
  • How much: sized to the person's earnings, the profit they bring, or a loan (Legal & General ↗)
  • Tax: premiums can be deductible only if HMRC's conditions are met (HMRC ↗)
  • Also known as: key man insurance, which means the same thing (Legal & General ↗)
02 · Meaning

Key person insurance meaning and definition

HMRC's manual describes key person insurance as a policy an employer takes out in its own favour, insuring against loss of profits from the death, critical illness, sickness, accident or injury of an employee, director or other key person (HMRC ↗).

The company is both the applicant and the plan owner, and the key person is the life covered (Royal London ↗).

That is the key man insurance meaning in one line: the business insures a person it depends on, and the business is paid.

Royal London adds that insurable interest must be demonstrated (Royal London ↗): the business needs a real financial stake in the person, which is why the cover is sized to what they are worth to it.

In the sources' own words
  • “An employer may take out in their own favour a policy insuring against loss of profits resulting from the death, critical illness, sickness, accident or injury of an employee, director or other ‘key person’.”

    HMRC Business Income Manual, BIM45525 (HMRC ↗)
  • “Put simply, ‘key man insurance’ is where a business insures itself against the financial loss it would suffer in this eventuality.”

    Legal & General (Legal & General ↗)
  • “Instead, the company owns the plan, pays the premiums and receives the proceeds.”

    Royal London technical guidance (Royal London ↗)
03 · Every name for it

Keyman, key man, key person: the same cover

If you searched for keyman insurance, key man cover, key person protection or key employee insurance, you are in the right place.

Legal & General says key man insurance means the same thing as key person insurance (Legal & General ↗).

“Key person” is the wording in HMRC's manual (HMRC ↗) and the insurers' guides, such as Royal London (Royal London ↗), so this site uses it throughout.

Pick the name you searched to see what it means.

Key person life insurance →Hiscox and key person cover →

The name you searched

Same product as key person insurance

Keyman insurance · Key man insurance · Key personnel insurance

The older names for the same policy. Legal & General says “key man insurance” means the same thing as key person insurance, and that it covers a key individual, men and women (Legal & General ↗). HMRC's manual and the insurers' guides use “key person” (HMRC ↗).

04 · Who needs it

Who needs it, and who counts as a key person?

Any business whose profits rest on one person's skills, contacts or leadership.

Job title does not decide who counts: the business must be able to show it would lose profits in the person's absence (Legal & General ↗).

It needs the person's agreement and a financial relationship with them (Legal & General ↗), and Aviva's policy is open to limited companies, LLPs, partners and sole traders (Aviva ↗).

Tick what is true of the person you have in mind.

Nothing you tick is stored or sent.

Do I need key person insurance? →Small business →Limited company →Partnerships →Sole traders →
Few signsSome signsMany signs

Tick what applies

Each line is a loss Legal & General says a payout could help with.

Typical key people, in Legal & General's words

  • Owner or founder
  • CEO
  • Operations manager
  • IT manager
  • Web developer
  • Sales lead
  • Employees with lots of contacts
  • Exceptional talents

HMRC's manual names an employee, director or other key person (HMRC ↗). Check the list at its link: (Legal & General ↗)

05 · How it works

How does key person insurance work?

The business applies, owns the plan and pays the premiums (Royal London ↗).

Legal & General's policy pays if the key person passes away or is diagnosed with a terminal illness where life expectancy is less than 12 months, and on a specified critical illness if that cover was chosen at the outset for an extra cost (Legal & General ↗).

The payout goes to the business (Legal & General ↗).

The key person agrees to be covered (Legal & General ↗), but they are not the one who is paid.

That is the difference from personal life insurance, covered further down.

01

Apply

The business takes out the policy

The company is the applicant and the plan owner; the key person is the life covered.

02

Pay

The business pays the premiums

No trust is needed, because the company owns the plan.

03

Claim

The business makes a claim

If the key person passes away or is diagnosed with a covered illness. Critical illness pays only if it was chosen, for the conditions the policy defines.

04

Payout

The money goes to the business

To cover lost profit, recruit a replacement or repay a loan.

06 · What it pays for

What does key person insurance pay for?

Whatever the business needs.

Royal London says that when the company gets the proceeds it can then decide how to use them, for example to settle corporate debt, or to meet the company's financial needs while it reorganises or recruits a replacement (Royal London ↗).

Legal & General lists the losses the money could help with (Legal & General ↗), shown here.

It replaces money, not the person: the knowledge and relationships still have to be rebuilt.

Key person risk →

What Legal & General says a payout could help with

  • Loss of profits
  • Recruiting or training a replacement
  • Lost personal or business contacts
  • Lost goodwill that could affect raising capital
  • Customers and suppliers losing confidence
  • Outstanding loans

Royal London's examples

  • Settling corporate debt
  • Meeting the company's needs while it reorganises or recruits

Check each list at its link: (Legal & General ↗) (Royal London ↗)

07 · Life, critical illness or income protection

Types of key person insurance cover

Legal & General's adviser guide lists three forms: key person life insurance, key person cover with critical illness, and Key Person Income Protection (Legal & General ↗).

Life cover, often searched as key man life insurance, pays a lump sum if the person insured passes away.

Critical illness pays on a covered diagnosis: under the ABI's standards, a policy called critical illness must cover cancer, heart attack and stroke to minimum definitions (ABI ↗), and those three account for 80% of critical illness claims (ABI ↗). Income protection pays the business a monthly benefit while the person cannot work (Legal & General ↗).

Key person life insurance →Key person critical illness →Key person income protection →

Life cover

Life and critical illness

Income protection

Pays when
If the key person passes away (Legal & General ↗)
As life cover, or on a covered diagnosis (Legal & General ↗)
They cannot work through illness or injury (Legal & General ↗)
How it pays
A sum to the business (Legal & General ↗)
A sum to the business (Legal & General ↗)
A monthly benefit to the business (Legal & General ↗)
Published sizing
Up to 10× earnings, for life cover (Legal & General ↗)
Up to 5× gross salary for critical illness (Royal London ↗)
Up to 2.5× earnings, or 75% of attributable gross profit (Legal & General ↗)
Oldest entry age
77 at Legal & General (Legal & General ↗)
67 at Legal & General (Legal & General ↗)
60 at Legal & General (Legal & General ↗)
Swipe to compare

Sizing figures and ages are single insurers' published limits, not recommendations; underwriting decides. Check each at its link.

08 · How much cover

How key person cover is sized

Insurers publish three ways to size the cover, and the calculator below applies all three.

Earnings: a multiple of the key person's pay, often up to 10 times for life cover, with a lower figure for critical illness (Legal & General ↗).

Scottish Widows counts salary, regular bonuses, dividends and other regular taxable income, averaged over two to three years where income varies (Scottish Widows ↗).

Profit: up to 2 times the gross profit (Legal & General ↗), or 5 times the net profit (Legal & General ↗), attributable to the key person, usually averaged over the last 2 years (Legal & General ↗).

Loan: the amount of a business loan to be repaid if the key person passes away (Legal & General ↗).

Published salary multiples, life cover vs critical illness
Royal Londonup to 10×
Scottish Widowsup to 10×
Zurichup to 7×
Legal & Generalup to 10×

Each insurer's published ceiling, not a recommendation; underwriting decides. Sources: Royal London (Royal London ↗), Scottish Widows (Scottish Widows ↗), Zurich (Zurich ↗) (a 2021 guide), Legal & General (Legal & General ↗).

09 · Calculator

Key person insurance for business: a cover calculator

Insurers size key person cover from what the person is worth to the business.

The simplest rule is a multiple of their pay: up to 10 times earnings for life cover at Legal & General (Legal & General ↗), and up to 7 times total remuneration at Zurich (Zurich ↗).

Others use the profit the person brings, or a loan the business would have to repay.

Type your own figures.

The result is each insurer's published ceiling, not a quote: the underwriter sets the final amount, and the price depends on the person.

The full calculator, method by method →
Your figures (examples; change them)

Salary, regular bonuses and dividends; insurers word it differently

Their share of the business's net profit, averaged over recent years

Their share of gross profit

Business borrowing that would need repaying

Life cover: what the published rules would consider

£420,000 to £600,000

Across 4 published rules that apply to the figures you gave. Each is a ceiling, not a recommendation: the insurer's underwriter sets the real limit.

Earnings method
Their pay£60,000
Legal & General logoLegal & General up to 10× earnings£600,000
Royal London logoRoyal London up to 10× gross salary£600,000
Scottish Widows logoScottish Widows up to 10× earnings£600,000
Zurich logoZurich up to 7× total remuneration£420,000
Summarised from each insurer's guide; check the current rule at its link: Legal & General ↗ · Royal London ↗ · Scottish Widows ↗ · Zurich ↗.
Profit method

Add a net or gross profit figure above to see this method.

Loan method

Add a loan figure above to see this method.

Royal London: overall cap on life cover
Royal London logoRoyal London the greater of 10× salary package or 5× average net profit£600,000
Profits averaged over three years and attributed to the key person. Check it at the link: Royal London ↗

No premium is shown: the price depends on the person and needs an insurer's underwriting. Nothing you type is stored or sent.

10 · Key man vs life insurance

Key man insurance vs life insurance

Key man life insurance is life insurance, but the business is the customer and the business is paid.

Personal life insurance works the other way round: MoneyHelper describes it as financial support for your dependants if you pass away, with you deciding who receives the payment (MoneyHelper ↗).

The other big difference is what each is sized to, shown in the last row.

Key man insurance vs life insurance, in full →

This page

Key person insurance

For comparison

Personal life insurance

Owner
The company (Royal London ↗)
You
Who pays
The company (Royal London ↗)
You
Who is paid
The company (Royal London ↗)
Who you decide (MoneyHelper ↗)
For
Lost profit, recruitment, a loan (Legal & General ↗)
Your dependants (MoneyHelper ↗)
Sized to
Earnings, profit or a loan (Legal & General ↗)
Debts, mortgage or rent, dependants, income (MoneyHelper ↗)
Swipe to compare
11 · Cost

How much does key person insurance cost?

The price is set for one person and one policy, and no insurer we checked publishes a key person rate card.

What decides it is published: MoneyHelper's list for life insurance is shown here (MoneyHelper ↗).

Aviva adds: “The more coverage you need, the higher your premium will be.” (Aviva ↗)

For key man insurance rates, the closest published figures are one broker's example, which is not a quote (Drewberry (broker) ↗).

Key person insurance cost, in full →Compare providers →

What MoneyHelper says sets a life insurance price

  • Age
  • Health
  • Lifestyle
  • Smoking
  • Family medical history
  • Length of the policy
  • Occupation

Check the list at the link: (MoneyHelper ↗)

A broker's example: £150,000 level cover, 10 years, a month
Age 35£7.26
Age 45£12.66
Age 55£26.78

Drewberry (an FCA-authorised broker, not an insurer): healthy non-smoker, company director, office-based duties, quotes accurate as of August 2025. No insurer is named. Check it at the link: (Drewberry (broker) ↗)

12 · Tax, and what HMRC says

Is key person insurance tax deductible?

It can be.

For keyman insurance, HMRC's manual sets two conditions, shown side by side here: the sole purpose must be meeting a loss of trading income (HMRC ↗), and life cover must be term insurance with no other benefits (HMRC ↗).

Whether a policy meets them is a question of fact (HMRC ↗).

One case needs care: where a director's passing would significantly affect the value of the company's shares, protecting that value may be a non-trade purpose (HMRC ↗).

Tax depends on your facts, so check it with your accountant.

Key person insurance tax guide →

Can be deductible

Not deductible

Purpose
Solely to meet a loss of trading income (HMRC ↗)
A capital loss (HMRC ↗)
Policy
Term insurance, no other benefits (HMRC ↗)
Whole life or endowment, or critical illness with an investment content (HMRC ↗)
Term
No longer than the person's usefulness (HMRC ↗)
–
Who is insured
An employee, director or other key person (HMRC ↗)
A sole trader or partner, on themselves (HMRC ↗)
Payout
Trading income: for a company, under section 103 of the Corporation Tax Act 2009 (HMRC ↗)
Generally not trading income, with no assurance (HMRC ↗)
Swipe to compare
13 · How to buy it

How to buy key person insurance, and what the insurer asks

Legal & General says its own team of financial advisers can advise on Key Person Protection (Legal & General ↗).

Insurers whose key person documents we cite include Legal & General (Legal & General ↗), Royal London (Royal London ↗), Scottish Widows (Scottish Widows ↗), Zurich (Zurich ↗), LV= (LV= ↗) and Vitality (Vitality ↗).

We do not rank them.

Whoever sells it must first specify your demands and needs from what you tell them (FCA ↗).

Before you buy, the FCA tells consumers to check the firm on its Firm Checker (FCA ↗).

About the person, the insurer looks at medical history and current health, and might ask for a medical exam (Aviva ↗).

Age limits apply, as the table of cover types shows (Legal & General ↗).

About the business, it asks why their absence would cost profit (Legal & General ↗), and for their remuneration or the profit attributable to them (Scottish Widows ↗).

Aviva asks for a full financial questionnaire only above £2.5 million of life cover or £1 million of critical illness cover (Aviva ↗), and gives up to £1 million of free life cover while it looks into a case it cannot decide straight away (Aviva ↗).

Keyman insurance quotes: what decides yours →Key person insurance comparison →Providers explained →
01

Decide

Name the person, and what they bring

Show what their absence would cost the business: profit, recruiting a replacement, a loan. Get their agreement to be covered.

02

Size

Put a figure on the cover

Use their pay, the profit they bring, or the loan. The calculator on this page applies the insurers’ published rules.

03

Ask

Get quotes through an authorised firm

A broker or adviser records your demands and needs and asks insurers. Check the firm on the FCA register first.

04

Answer

Complete the application in full

Health, lifestyle and the business figures. Non-disclosure is a common reason a claim is later declined.

05

Start

The business owns and pays

The company is the plan owner and pays the premiums. Review the cover when the person’s role or pay changes.

14 · Claims

Key person insurance claims: how they get paid

The business, as the plan owner, receives the proceeds (Royal London ↗).

Across the UK market, the great majority of protection claims are paid: the ABI's 2024 figures are shown here (ABI ↗).

They cover all policies, not key person cover alone.

Where a claim is declined, the ABI names two common reasons, listed here (ABI ↗), so answer the application fully.

Key person insurance claims →
New individual protection claims paid, 202497.9%

Check at the link: (ABI ↗)

Group and individual protection claims paid, 2024£8bn

ABI and GRiD figures; check at the link: (ABI ↗)

Why a claim can be declined

  • Existing medical conditions not disclosed when the policy was taken out (ABI ↗)
  • The claim does not meet the policy definitions (ABI ↗)
  • An answer on the application was not truthful or accurate, or something was not disclosed (MoneyHelper ↗)

The ABI names the first two as common reasons; MoneyHelper warns of the third. Check each at its link.

15 · Neighbouring covers

Key person vs shareholder protection vs relevant life

Three covers on the same director, paying three different people.

Key person insurance pays the company for a loss of profit (HMRC ↗).

Shareholder protection lets the other owners buy a shareholder's shares: a cross option agreement gives the survivors the option to buy them from the personal representatives (Royal London ↗).

Relevant life is a single life plan the employer takes out and pays for on behalf of an employee or director, paying their family through a trust (Royal London ↗).

They are not interchangeable: Legal & General says its Relevant Life Plan should not be used for business protection such as key person or shareholder protection (Legal & General ↗).

If you searched for employer or employee life insurance, death in service is different again: an employee benefit paying a tax-free cash sum to the family if an employee passes away while on the company payroll (Legal & General ↗).

Key person vs shareholder protection →Key person vs relevant life →Death in service →

This page

Key person insurance

Shareholder protection

Relevant life

Protects
The business, against lost profit (HMRC ↗)
The survivors' option to buy the shares (Royal London ↗)
The employee's family and dependants (Royal London ↗)
Owner
The company (Royal London ↗)
In one structure, each shareholder's own plan, in trust for the others (Royal London ↗)
Trustees, not the company (Royal London ↗)
Paid to
The company (Royal London ↗)
The co-shareholders, to buy the shares (Royal London ↗)
The family, through a trust (Royal London ↗)
Swipe to compare

Royal London describes three shareholder protection structures; the row shows one. Check each at its link.

16 · Pros and cons

Key person insurance pros and cons

What the cover does well, and where its limits are.

It replaces money, not the person: the knowledge and relationships still have to be rebuilt.

Pros

Cons

Money
Pays the business for lost profit, recruitment or a loan (Legal & General ↗)
The business pays the premiums (Royal London ↗)
Use
The company decides how to use the proceeds (Royal London ↗)
It replaces money, not the person or their know-how
Cover
Life, critical illness or income protection forms (Legal & General ↗)
Critical illness raises the premium: £7.26 to £32.56 a month at 35 in one broker's example (Drewberry (broker) ↗)
Tax
Premiums can be deductible (HMRC ↗)
Then the payout is trading income (HMRC ↗)
Proof
Sized to published earnings, profit or loan methods (Legal & General ↗)
The business must show a loss of profits (Legal & General ↗)
Claims
97.9% of new individual claims paid, market-wide (ABI ↗)
Non-disclosure is a common reason for decline (ABI ↗)
The person
Covers someone the business depends on
Term tied to their usefulness, for tax (HMRC ↗)
Swipe to compare
17 · Where next

Protect your business: where to go next

Now you know what key person insurance is, these guides go further.

Each card says what it covers.

Key person insurance comparison →Shareholder protection →Relevant life insurance →Key person insurance claims →
18 · Trusted sources

Check it for yourself

Every claim on this page is our summary of one of the documents listed here.

We last checked them against the live sources on 28 September 2026.

The documents are the authority, not this page.

Insurers and HMRC update them, so validate any figure or condition at its link before you rely on it.

Questions

Key person insurance FAQs

Key person insurance is a policy a business takes out on someone it depends on.

HMRC’s manual describes it as a policy an employer takes out in its own favour against loss of profits from the death, critical illness, sickness, accident or injury of an employee, director or other key person.

Legal & General says the employer owns and pays for the policy, so any payout goes to the employer. HMRC BIM45525 ↗

Royal London says the company is both the applicant and the plan owner, with the key person as the life covered.

No trust is needed: the company owns the plan, pays the premiums and receives the proceeds.

It can use the money for lost profit, recruitment or a loan. Royal London guidance ↗

Someone whose absence would cost the business profit.

Legal & General says the business must be able to show it would lose profits in the key person’s absence, and needs the person’s agreement and a financial relationship with them.

Its examples include an owner or founder, a CEO, a sales lead and employees with lots of contacts. Legal & General ↗

Yes. Legal & General says key man insurance means the same thing as key person insurance.

Keyman, key man and key person insurance all name the same business policy.

HMRC’s manual and the insurers’ guides use “key person”. Legal & General ↗

Key man insurance is insurance that protects a business from the loss of a key individual, men and women.

The business owns the policy on that person’s life and receives any payout, to cover lost profit, recruitment or a loan.

It is the same thing as key person insurance. Legal & General ↗

Key man cover is another name for key person insurance.

LV= calls it key person cover: life insurance taken out by a business on the life of a crucial person in the business, which can include critical illness cover and pays the company. LV= ↗

It is the contract the business takes out on its key person.

Royal London says the company is both the applicant and the plan owner, and the key person is the life covered.

The company pays the premiums and receives the proceeds, so no trust is needed. Royal London guidance ↗

Key Person Protection is Legal & General’s name for its key person policy: life insurance, with critical illness cover if selected, on a key person, owned and paid for by the employer so that any payout goes to the employer.

Keyman protection and key man protection mean the same kind of cover. Legal & General ↗

Yes, where the business insures an employee it depends on.

HMRC’s manual describes key person cover as a policy on an employee, director or other key person.

What decides it is whether the business would lose profits without them, not their job title. HMRC BIM45525 ↗

Key man insurance is life insurance that the business owns and pays for, and the business receives the payout.

MoneyHelper describes personal life insurance as giving your dependants financial support if you pass away, and you decide who receives the payment. MoneyHelper ↗

No insurer we checked publishes a rate card for key person cover: the premium is set for one person.

One broker, Drewberry, publishes monthly premiums from its own quote engine, accurate as of August 2025, for a healthy non-smoking company director with £150,000 of level cover over 10 years: £7.26 for life cover at 35 and £26.78 at 55, or £32.56 and £158.57 with critical illness.

That is a broker’s example, not a quote. Drewberry (broker) ↗

Insurers size it from what the person is worth to the business.

Legal & General’s adviser guide gives up to 10 times earnings for life cover, up to 2 times the gross profit or 5 times the net profit attributable to the key person, or the amount of a loan to be repaid if they pass away.

The underwriter sets the final amount. Legal & General adviser guide ↗

HMRC’s Business Income Manual says premiums are deductible only if the sole purpose is meeting a loss of trading income, not a capital loss, and, for life cover, the policy is term insurance with no other benefits.

Where both conditions are met, the payout is income of the trade, under section 103 of the Corporation Tax Act 2009 for companies. HMRC BIM45525 ↗

Insurers whose published key person documents we cite include Legal & General, Royal London, Scottish Widows, Zurich, LV= and Vitality, and Aviva publishes a business protection policy with life or life and critical illness cover.

We do not rank insurers.

An FCA-authorised broker or adviser can compare them for you. Providers compared ↗

Key person insurance pays the company for the loss of a person it depends on.

Shareholder protection funds the purchase of a shareholder’s shares: Royal London says a cross option agreement gives the surviving shareholders the option to buy the shares from the personal representatives. Royal London guidance ↗

Key man insurance pays the business.

Royal London describes a relevant life plan as a single life insurance plan an employer takes out and pays for on behalf of an employee or director, set up under trust from the start, so it is not a company asset and is owned by the trustees for the family. Royal London guidance ↗

Check the policy terms with the insurer: what can be changed or cancelled depends on the contract.

For tax, HMRC’s manual says the term of a key person life policy should not extend beyond the period of the employee’s usefulness to the company. HMRC BIM45525 ↗

Beta · information only

Protect your business today: put a number on the cover.

Now you know what key person insurance is, the calculator works through the earnings, profit and loan methods UK insurers publish.

01Earnings, profit and loan methods

02Insurers’ published multiples, with sources

03No email, no quote, no sales call

Information, not advice

We are not an insurer, broker or regulated adviser, and we do not give quotes or recommend a policy. For regulated advice, use an adviser authorised by the FCA.

Open the calculator →

Takes you to the key person insurance calculator.

Not financial advice. This page is general information. Before buying insurance, the FCA tells consumers to check the firm on its Firm Checker (FCA ↗). For free guidance, see MoneyHelper.